Schedule For Lok Sabha Elections To Be Introduced At 3 Pm In the present day


The three-member Election Fee of India.

New Delhi:

Dates for the 2024 Lok Sabha election can be introduced at 3 pm Saturday, the Election Fee of India stated this afternoon. The ECI posted a short assertion on X (previously Twitter) that stated dates for 4 Meeting polls – scheduled to be held across the similar time – would even be launched.

The Mannequin Code of Conduct will come into pressure from the time the dates are introduced. The 2019 election was held over seven phases from April 11 to Might 19, with outcomes declared 4 days later.

The 4 states anticipated to vote in April/Might are Arunachal Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, and Sikkim; Maharashtra, Haryana, and Jharkhand scheduled to vote later this 12 months. Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh, are additionally set to vote, according to a Supreme Courtroom order directing the conduct of Meeting polls by September 30 as step one in direction of restoration of statehood.

In a primary, the ballot panel has given 24-hour discover of a press convention to announce voting dates, polling phases, and different particulars, together with deployment of safety personnel in states the place post-poll violence and clashes with Maoist or insurgent forces is an element that must be thought of.

Add image caption here

Lok Sabha Election 2024 Dates: The 2019 election was held from April 11 to April 19 (File).

Bengal’s ruling Trinamool has already underlined its place, calling for a single-phase election for the state’s 42 seats and demanding central safety forces not “threaten/intimidate voters”.

Election Commissioners Case In Supreme Courtroom

The ECI’s pre-announcement comes a day after two new Election Commissioners had been inducted, after the retirement of Anup Chandra Pandey in February and Arun Goel’s shock resignation final week. Former IAS officers Gyanesh Kumar and Sukhbir Singh Sandhu have been named to the panel.

READ | Ex-Bureaucrats Gyanesh Kumar, Sukhbir Sandhu Are New ECs

The nomination of Mr Kumar and Mr Sandhu was challenged by the Affiliation for Democratic Reforms, a non-partisan organisation engaged on electoral and political reforms. The ADR, which additionally petitioned the highest court docket within the electoral bonds concern, had sought a keep on the 2 appointments, difficult the choice to exclude Chief Justice DY Chandrachud from the choice panel.

The highest court docket – which was listening to the petition because the ECI posted its tweet – has refused to remain Mr Kumar and Mr Sandhu’s appointment, and stated the matter can be heard subsequent on March 21.

READ | Supreme Courtroom Refuses To Keep Appointment Of ECs

Beneath present legal guidelines, Election Commissioners are appointed by the President primarily based on the enter of a three-member panel chaired by the Prime Minister. The panel additionally features a Union Minister and the Chief of the Opposition within the Lok Sabha, which is at present the Congress’ Adhir Chowdhury.

In March 2023, nonetheless, the Supreme Courtroom had stated the panel ought to encompass the Prime Minister, the Chief of the Opposition, and the Chief Justice. Nonetheless, in an addendum seen by many as giving the federal government an out, the court docket stated the order would stay until passage of a regulation that stated in any other case.

READ | On EC Appointments, Supreme Courtroom’s Large Order

In December the federal government handed a regulation that establishes a brand new mechanism – swapping the Chief Justice for a Union Minister – to nominate all, or anyone, of the three election commissioners.

The ballot panel is headed by Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar.

NDTV is now out there on WhatsApp channels. Click on on the hyperlink to get all the newest updates from NDTV in your chat.

Supply hyperlink


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here