Rahul Gandhi In Wayanad Contest, Seats Finalised For High Leaders: Sources

Rahul Gandhi In Wayanad Contest, Seats Finalised For Top Leaders: Sources

Rahul Gandhi In Wayanad Contest, Seats Finalised For Top Leaders: Sources

The occasion may even contest 16 of the 20 seats from Kerala.

New Delhi:

The Congress election committee, in its very first assembly late final night, has finalised most candidates for six of ten states it was contemplating. “A proper announcement will likely be made quickly,” mentioned senior occasion chief KC Venugopal when the assembly completed near midnight.

“We finalised seats from Kerala, Karnataka, Telangana, Chhattisgarh, Delhi and Lakshadweep… The process is happening, formal announcement will likely be made very quickly,” Mr Venugopal instructed reporters.

Sources mentioned Rahul Gandhi will contest once more from his seat Wayanad in Kerala, former Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel from Chhattisgarh’s Rajnandgaon and Jyotsna Mahant from Korba. All the important thing leaders from Chhattisgarh will likely be within the fray.

The occasion may even contest 16 of the 20 seats from Kerala and former Union Minister Shashi Tharoor will likely be among the many candidates, sources mentioned.

In Karnataka, the Congress is not going to subject state ministers, sources mentioned, amid studies that the majority ministers are unwilling to contest the nationwide elections. Two ministers have gone public with their reservations. Just one minister might be within the operating if he decides to contest, sources mentioned.

Among the many candidates from the state is state occasion chief DK Shivakumar’s brother, occasion MP DK Suresh. No resolution has been taken on Kalburgi, the seat of Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge.

The committee will meet once more on Monday.

The record that was to be mentioned at present included Delhi, Chhattisgarh, Telangana, Karnataka, Kerala, Manipur, Meghalaya, Tripura, Sikkim and Lakshadweep. The occasion has left the northeast for the following spherical.

With the final elections due in summer season, the finalisation of candidates has began despite the fact that the occasion is but to resolve the seat-sharing concern in two essential states – Maharashtra and Bengal — which collectively account for 90 seats.

Talks with Maha Vikas Aghadi allies for the 48 seats in Maharashtra continues to be in progress. In Bengal, the Congress is attempting to placate Chief Minister and Trinamool Congress chief Mamata Banerjee, who has put her INDIA membership on maintain, miffed with the best way the seat sharing course of was going.

Supply hyperlink


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here